Northerns Women’s Senior provincial team will be well represented in this year’s Women’s T20 Super League. The competition which is now in its’ third year is South Africa’s premier women’s T20 competition.

Seven players and coach Martelize van der Merwe have been drafted into the four teams that will take part in the tournament from 14 -16 December 2020.

The Duchesses have the biggest Northerns contingent with six Daisy Ladies in the team and they will be coached by Martelize van der Merwe.

“I’m very happy with the outcome of the draft, we had lot more players drafted than I thought we would” said Charlotte Serwadi, Cricket Services Manager at NCU. “I thought we would have three or four players drafted so I’m happy with the seven and Martelize”, she continued.

Having seven players participate in this year’s WSL is an improvement from last year when five players were involved in the tournament and Northerns Cricket Union will want that number to continue to grow.

“Women’s cricket is a priority to us and part of the development is having the best players within our structures and offering them the best opportunities and playing against the toughest opponents”, said Serwadi.

The Women’s T20 Super League will be played at Six Gun Grill Newlands with the below teams:

DUCHESSES – Sune Luus (c), Mignon de Preez, Sinalo Jafta, Zintle Mali, Delmi Tucker, Faye Tunnicliffe, Micheala Andrews, Gabsile Nkosi, Robyn Searle, Gandhi Jafta, Alyssa Elxlebben, Monalisa Legodi, Michaela Kirk. Head Coach: Martelize van der Merwe, Assistant Coach: Mark Arthur.

THISTLES – Tumi Sekhukhune (c), Shabnim Ismail, Trisha Chetty, Anneke Bosch, Eliz-Mari Marx, Nonkululeko Thabethe, Jade de Figuerido, Moseline Daniels, Nadia Mbokotwana, Khayakazi Mathe, Alexandra Candra, Courtney Gouden, Nobulumko Baneti. Head Coach: Angelique Taai, Assistant Coach: Richard Hlela.

STARLIGHTS – Chloe Tryon (c), Lizelle Lee, Masabata Klaas, Andrie Steyn, Lara Goodall, Leah Jones, Nondumiso Shangase, Anri Grobbelaar, Tatum Le Roux, Annerie Dercksen, Christine Tomlinson, Khushi Mistry, Evodia Yekile. Head Coach: Claire Terblanche, Assistant Coach: Neo Sekokotla.

CORONATIONS – Nadine de Klerk (c), Laura Wolvaardt, Ayabonga Khaka, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Verunissa Reddy, Madison Landman, Tazmin Brits, Kirsty Thompson, Kgomotso Rapoo, Jane Winster, Izelle Cilliers, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Zintle Kula. Head Coach: Adele van Eck, Assistant Coach: Shaun Pretorius.