Paulinah Mashishi and Heinrich Klaasen were the big winners at the annual Titans Awards function this evening. The event was hosted at the Emperors Palace and for the first time in Titans Cricket history the men’s and women’s awards were held jointly.

Klaasen scooped the Weber Men’s Titans Player of the Year gong, as well as the One-Day Player of The Year, for a phenomenal season of displays with the bat. The Proteas star was integral in the Titans run in to two cup finals, as well as winning the 4-Day title.

Mashishi continued to be a steadying influence for the Women’s side, and she was deserved winner of the Women’s Titans Player of The Year.

Simon Harmer’s stunning return to South African cricket was also rewarded with the First-Class Player of the Year, Players’ Player of the Year as well as the Weber Fans Player of the Year award, in a season where the off-spinner topped the wicket-takers list in South Africa, and made a successful return to the Test side.

“We are extremely proud of all of our players, and not just those who won awards tonight,” Titans CEO Dr Jacques Faul said at the function.

“It was such a thrill to be able to have the Titans family under one roof again, celebrating our achievements on and off the field. Our sponsors and partners have been integral to that success, so we thank them for their continued support,” Faul added.

Titans coach Mandla Mashimbyi, who secured his first trophy this season, also reflected on the 2021/22 campaign.

“These nights are important, because they are recognition for all of the work that goes on in the background. The players have done everything we asked of them, and it is encouraging to see that we are still competing for all the titles,” Mashimbyi added.

“We were not that far away from winning the T20 title and the 50-over title, so we take those lessons with us, and they will serve as motivation for the next season,” he added.

The 2021/2022 season was one where three Sky Blues legends said goodbye to the game. The Awards ceremony saw Chris Morris, AB de Villiers and Dale Steyn honoured for their time at SuperSport Park and their contribution to cricket.

“We are extremely proud of the careers that Chris, Dale and AB have had. They have been outstanding examples to future generations and made big contributions to the Titans and cricket globally. I wish them well in the next phase of their lives. We are honoured that we can call them our own.” Faul continued.

• Garmin Mens Newcomer of the year: Ayabulela Gqamane
• Womens Most Promising Player of the Year: Nicolien Janse van Rensburg
• Mens T20 Player of the Year: Donavon Ferreira
• Womens T20 Player of the Year: Robyn Searle
• Mens First Class Player of the Year: Simon Harmer
• Garmin Mens Most Valuable Player: Sibonelo Makhanya
• Weber Fans Player of the Year: Simon Harmer
• Men’s One Day Player of the Year: Heinrich Klaasen
• Womens 50 Over Player of the Year: Sune Luus
• Afriski Men’s Players’ Player of the Year: Simon Harmer
• friski Womens Players’ Player of the Year: Robyn Searle
• Womens Titans Player of the Year: Paulinah Mashishi
• Weber Men’s Titans Player of the Year: Heinrich Klaasen