Titans feature strongly across Mzansi Super League

As the leading domestic T20 franchise in the country, it came as no surprise that the Multiply Titans featured prominently in the Mzansi Super League draft this week.

The Tshwane Spartans got the lion's share of the Titans' playing staff, with seven players signed up to play in the red and green of Tshwane, come competition time next month.

AB de Villiers headlines a squad that also includes Lungi Ngidi, Theunis de Bruyn, Tony de Zorzi, Dean Elgar, Shaun von Berg and Eldred Hawken. That will ensure that the SuperSport Park Centurion crowds have plenty of familiar faces when they flock in to watch the Spartans' home matches.

There will also be several friendly faces when teams visit, as there are several Titans dotted around across the country.

The Paarl Rocks will be led by Proteas captain and Titans veteran Faf du Plessis, while Aiden Markram and Tabraiz Shamsi are expected to feature prominently throughout the campaign. Grant Thomson and Tshepo Moreki have also been snapped up by the Boland side, while the experience of Henry Davids upfront will be invaluable.

Up the coast, Chris Morris was the first man brought in the main draft by the Nelson Mandela Bay Giants, and he has Titans stable-mates Junior Dala and Heino Kuhn for company.

In Cape Town, Quinton de Kock became the marquee player in lieu of the injured JP Duminy, while Dale Steyn and Farhaan Behardien will provide experience and composure with ball and bat respectively.

Across the Jukskei, Alfred Mothoa has crossed the traditional derby lines, and he will turn out for the Jozi Stars. In Durban, meanwhile, Heinrich Klaasen and Titans veteran Albie Morkel will bring the Heat, both very capable of destroying attacks in a short burst.

That means that the Titans are represented across all six franchises, with 22 players shared around the country. That strong showing is further indication of just how highly rated the Titans' production line remains.

The Mzansi Super League starts on 16 November, and runs until the final on 16 December.