Moreki looking to build on first game success

Tshepo Moreki was one of several heroes for the Momentum Multiply Titans, as they beat the Hollywoodbets Dolphins in the first round of this season’s 4-Day Franchise Series.

Not only did he secure career-best figures, he also bagged a hat-trick that was the catalyst for a late charge to a final afternoon victory.

“The plan from the skipper was to put them under pressure. The hat-trick wasn’t the plan!,” he said of the triple strike that started with the big scalp of Andile Phehlukwayo.

“The plan was just to put them under pressure, so it was definitely an exciting time. I had a long off-season, without playing in the Africa Cup. So there were some nerves, and some apprehension,” he admitted.

Moreki noted that the game was set up by some excellent leadership, and great work by the batting department.

“The batting put a lot of runs up, and that definitely put us in good stead. We also got a few stern words from the coach, who reminded us that our plan was quite simple. Keep it outside off stump, and stay patient.”

That patience was rewarded late in the day, and Moreki said that credit had to be given to captain Grant Thomson.

“Anyone who knows him knows that Grant is quite a relaxed guy. I think any team is a reflection of their leader. We didn’t panic, and that’s down to him,” he acknowledged.

“I know him away from the game, and we are good friends as well,” he added of the easy going skipper.

Next up for the Titans are the WSB Cape Cobras, who Moreki used to turn out for. Despite that history, he is choosing to focus on the Titans.

“It’s about us doing what we can do. I think that if we can do that, very few can match us,” he said of the Titans squad.

“If we play to our potential, we will be alright.”

The Titans are nursing several injuries though, including Henry Davids (abductor/groin), Tony de Zorzi (knee niggle), Alfred Mothoa (ankle) and Marcello Piedt (groin).

TITANS SQUAD TO FACE THE COBRAS (FROM): Grant Thomson (c), Andrea Agathagelou, Matthew Arnold, Farhaan Behardien, Corbin Bosch, Neil Brand, Junior Dala, Dayyaan Galiem, Rubin Hermann, Sizwe Masondo, Bafana Mahlangu, Tshepo Moreki, Kyle Simmonds, Jonathan Vandiar.