Elgar wary of complaceny against Cobras

The Multiply Titans have plenty of quality options to call upon for their Momentum One-day Cup semi-final against the WSB Cape Cobras on Wednesday.

Having secured top spot on the table, the Sky Blues can also host the final if they get past the men from the Cape.

“The fact that we beat them in the round-robin means nothing now. The Cobras play finals cricket very well, and they are a very dangerous side,” captain Dean Elgar noted.

The Cobras will come looking for some sort of reward in a season that they have consistently come close. For the Titans, however, there are some tough choices to make in a squad packed with talent.

“It’s a squad playing in a final. Even the guys who don’t play in the final, they are still part of the squad,” Elgar maintained.

That said, the Titans simply can’t ignore the raft of national players at their disposal again.

“It’s definitely beneficial for us having all the guys back, and we are extremely grateful. Especially for a guy like Dale (Steyn),” Elgar enthused.

Along with the veteran paceman, the in-form Aiden Markram also returns to join a most powerful batting card.

Seven Titans batsmen have made hundreds in the competition, but some may miss this final stretch, due to simple numbers.

“We’ve got to give ourselves the best chance to win another trophy, and if that means playing our best possible squad, why not? You can’t not play those guys if they are available,” Elgar insisted about the returning  Proteas.

He also warned against complacency, on the back of the emphatic victory in the Cape, which included a world record partnership between Markram and Farhaan Behardien. But, that is all forgotten now. The Titans are full of respect for the Cobras at play-off stage, and there is always an extra bit of motivation when these two sides meet.

Come Wednesday afternoon,  there will be plenty to play for at SuperSport Park Centurion.

Multiply Titans squad to face the WSB Cape Cobras (from): Dean Elgar (c), Farhaan Behardien, Corbin Bosch,  Junior Dala, Theunis de Bruyn, Tony de Zorzi, Heino Kuhn, Gregory Mahlokwana , Aiden Markram, Sizwe Masondo, Tshepo Moreki, Marcello Piedt, Grant Thomson, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn, Jonathan Vandiar