Boucher: We can beat any side with our ‘A’ game

Multiply Titans coach Mark Boucher is backing his side to take the final step and emerge victorious in the Momentum One-Day Cup on Sunday.

Even after a top-order wobble left them at 65 for five, the Titans didn’t panic, chasing down their 188-run target with 65 ball to spare.

“It’s a continuation of how the season has gone. When you find yourselves in sticky situations, especially in a pressure situation, you need your big players to perform. Fudgie did the business today,” Boucher said after the semi-final in midweek.

It was yet another example of depth and character within the side, and Boucher knows exactly what he has at his disposal.

“No disrespect to any of the other sides, and I think that they know as well, but we have the firepower to beat any side with our A game,” Boucher pointed out.

Certainly, the Titans have quality throughout their side, with national players in key positions, and a rash of players in good nick.

And yet, he is still waiting for his top-order to rediscover their best form in the playoff stage.

Boucher himself can’t quite explain the lack of runs at the top, but he is banking on his leading men saving the big contributions for when it matters most.

“We judge ourselves on trophies. We chopped and changed our side in the last few round robin games. We lost a bit of momentum, but we have a lot more seniority now,” Boucher explained.

It has been a tough season for the Sky Blues, but they have a chance to make amends with a win on home soil against the Dolphins.

The Titans have momentum, an enviable squad list, home ground advantage and a distinguished pedigree in the Momentum One-Day Cup. Boucher has named one change with Matthew Arnold coming in for the injured Corbin Bosch (back strain).

Come Sunday, they will try and put all of those ingredients together, and come up with a winning dish.

Multiply Titans squad to face Hollywoodbets Dolphins (from): Dean Elgar (c), Matthew Arnold, Farhaan Behardien, Junior Dala, Theunis de Bruyn, Tony de Zorzi, Heino Kuhn, Gregory Mahlokwana, Aiden Markram, Tshepo Moreki, Sizwe Masondo, Marcello Piedt, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn, Jonathan Vandiar, Shaun von Berg